Welcome to the homepage of the SFB/CRC 1324 !

The SFB1324 is financed by the German Research Foundation (DFG)


Wnt Seminar

Heidelberg University "Überlebensstrategien"


19:30 Karlstorbahnhof


Latest Publication


Lef1 regulates caveolin expression and caveolin dependent endocytosis, a process necessary for Wnt5a/Ror2 signaling during Xenopus gastrulation.

Puzik K, Tonnier V, Opper I, Eckert A, Zhou L, Kratzer MC, Noble FL, Nienhaus GU, Gradl D.

Sci Rep. 2019 Oct 30;9(1):15645. PMID:31666627


Heidelberg University was awarded with title "University of Excellence"

 2nd SFB1324 Retreat 27.-28.05.2019

Tagungszentrum Villa Bosch, Heidelberg

Photo: Christoph Bastert


SFB1324 Management office

Heidelberg University

Centre for Organismal Studies (COS)

Im Neuenheimer Feld 230

69120 Heidelberg




ERC Consilidator Grant for Alexander Aulehla


Prof. Dr. Irmgard Sinning received Eduard-Buchner-Preis

Press release


ERC Synergy Grant for Michael Boutros, Wolfgang Huber (EMBL), Jan Lohmann (Universität Heidelberg) and Oliver Stegle (EMBL/DKFZ)

press release_241018


ERC Synergy Grant for Joachim Wittbrodt and Ewan Birney (EMBL-EBI)

press release_241018


ERC Proof-of-Concept-Grant for Michael Boutros

press release_081018


DFG funded research unit for Holger Bastians

press release_200918


ERC Advanced Grants for Hellmut Augustin / for Christof Niehrs

press release_190418


ERC Consolidator Grant for Ana Martin-Villalba

press release_140218

Open positions

Prof. G. Ulrich Nienhaus: PhD Position at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology "Advanced Fluorescence Microscopy" PDF


Herbert Steinbeisser

M.D. Fellowships

In memory of Professor Dr. Herbert Steinbeisser, the SFB1324 offers fellowships to support medical students during experimental research projects that comprise part of their M.D. thesis. Further information can be found here: Herbert Steinbeisser Fellowships


Applications can be submitted twice annually, by June 15th and December 15th.

SFB/CRC 1324: Mechanisms and functions of Wnt signaling

Wnt signaling pathways play a decisive role in development, cell differentiation, tumorigenesis and tumor progression. Wnt ligands are secreted, lipidated proteins that bind to half a dozen different receptors to activate multiple downstream signaling cascades. Wnt pathways relay signals from divergent ligand-receptor interactions to a network of downstream signaling of conserved cytoplasmic factors. Despite having gained an enormous amount of knowledge about components and mechanisms of Wnt signaling, we are now facing a multitude of new questions about the specificity of signaling input and the control of signaling output during development and in disease.

To advance our understanding of molecular mechanisms governing Wnt signal transduction, the Collaborative Research Center CRC1324 is structured into two major research areas: (A) Wnt secretion, trafficking and receptor-ligand interactions and (B) Wnt coupling to downstream and context-dependent signaling. In the first research area, we want to understand how Wnt ligands are produced, how they are modified and how they are transported in the extracellular space. We also want to unravel the Wnt ligand receptor interactions and understand how they specify the signaling response and induce different signaling cascades. In the second research area, we will focus on the molecular dynamics of the Wnt machinery to understand how different Wnt pathways elicit distinct biological responses and how Wnt signaling is coupled to different downstream factors. We also want to understand the spatio-temporal dynamics of Wnt signaling, i.e., how Wnt signaling regulates oscillations and wave patterns. To address these questions, we will combine a wide range of model systems including hydra, fly, fish, frog, as well as mouse and human cells with cutting-edge technologies including advanced fluorescence microscopy, genetic screens and genome engineering, and proteomics.

Because Wnt signaling is of crucial importance for so many biological processes and diseases, the overarching and long-term goal of the Collaborative Research Center CRC 1324 is to gain a mechanistic understanding of Wnt signaling and to investigate its physiological consequences in a representative spectrum of model systems.